Enhanced Nursing Licensure Compact: What You Need To Know

Enhanced Nursing Licensure Compact: What You Need To Know

What Is The Enhanced Nursing Licensure Compact?

The enhanced nursing licensure compact (eNLC) is a new and updated version of the nursing licensure compact. The original nursing licensure compact, created in 2000, allowed nurses to practice in multiple states with one license. Including 25 states by 2015, the nursing licensure compact began facing resistance from states with stricter licensure requirements.

That’s where the new Enhanced Nursing Licensure Compact comes into play. Implemented in January 19, 2018, one major difference of the eNLC is that it will require applicants to undergo fingerprint-based criminal background checks. The National Council of State Boards of Nursing developed stricter requirements in hopes that all states will eventually implement the eNLC.

Here is a rundown of the uniform requirements for eNLC states:

  • Valid United States Social Security number
  • Meets the requirements for licensure in their state of residency
  • Has graduated from a board-approved education program OR has graduated from an international education program (approved by the authorized accrediting body in the applicable country and verified by an independent credentials review agency)
  • Has passed and English proficiency exam (applies to graduates of an international education program not taught English or if English is not the individual’s native language)
  • Has passed an NCLEX-RN or NCLEX-PN Examination or predecessor exam
  • Is eligible for or holds an active, unencumbered license
  • Has submitted to state and federal fingerprint-based criminal background checks
  • Has no state or federal felony convictions
  • Has no misdemeanor convictions related to the practice of nursing
  • Is not currently a participant in an alternative program
  • Is required to self-disclose current participation in an alternative program

Current and Pending eNLC States

What This Means For You

If you’re a nurse that currently has the original NLC, you will be grandfathered into the new eNLC. It’s important to note that not all NLC states have transferred over to the eNLC, so nurses have to make sure they their state is part of it. If the state is not a part of the eNLC, nurses can obtain a single state license in order to practice there. Currently Rhode Island is the only state from the original NLC that has yet to begin implementing the eNLC.

There are many organizations that support compact licenses for nursing, including:

  • Air & Surface Transport Nurses Association
  • American Academy of Ambulatory Care Nursing
  • American Association of Colleges of Nursing
  • American Association of Neuroscience Nurses
  • American Association of Occupational Health Nurses (AAOHN)
  • American Nephrology Nurses Association
  • American Organization of Nurse Executives (AONE)
  • American Telemedicine Association (ATA)
  • Association of Camp Nurses Association for Vascular Access
  • Case Management Society of America (CMSA)
  • Center for Telehealth and E-Health Law

As more states move forward with the Enhanced Nursing Licensure Compact, nurses will be able to provide care to a wider range of patients across the country. They will be able to easily take up travel contracts to meet their career goals and personal needs.

Curious about the benefits of travel assignments?

Learn More

Join our efforts to support communities affected by COVID-19.Crisis Response positions are available now.